Chiefs name 2013 Super Rugby squad

01 Nov 2012
Chiefs name 2013 Super Rugby squad

Super Rugby 2012 Champions, the Chiefs have formally announced their squad for the 2013 campaign and matches in Taupo (pre-season), Tauranga and Pukekohe.  

The Chiefs re-signed many of their players during the 2012 season, and added four players in the selection process to complete the 2013 squad: former All Black Ross Filipo who returned to Wellington after playing rugby in France and England, New Zealand U20 Hooker Rhys Marshall from Taranaki, Canterbury’s Fijian born winger Patrick Osborne and Wellington prop and former NZ U20 Solomona Sakalia.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie said “We are very happy with our squad. We know a lot about these players, their work ethic and character, therefore we have picked the new guys coming in on those attributes too.”

The Chiefs have retained the majority of their winning squad from last season with the transition of Augustine Pulu, Josh Hohneck and Bundee Aki from the wider training squad into the main squad. The squad contains five current All Blacks, seven Maori All Blacks and seven new recruits*.

Once again, the Chiefs have confirmed their commitment to being a truly regional team by taking Investec Super Rugby matches to as many parts of the region as possible by playing games at Taupo (pre-season), Tauranga and Pukekohe. The rest of the fixtures will be played at Waikato Stadium, including an afternoon game against the Reds.

“We know how important it is to get our region behind us and taking the rugby to the provinces is a way to help achieve this,“ said coach Rennie.

The team will play the following home fixtures:

Saturday 2 February: Chiefs v Highlanders (pre-season) – Owen Delany Park, Taupo 3pm
Saturday 2 March: Chiefs v Cheetahs – Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, 7.35pm
Friday 22 March: Chiefs v Highlanders –Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, 7.35pm
Saturday 30 March: Chiefs v Blues – Bay Park, Tauranga 7.35pm
Saturday 13 April: Chiefs v Reds – Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, 4.30pm
Saturday 27 April: Chiefs v Sharks – Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, 7.35pm
Friday 10 May: Chiefs v Western Force – ECOLight Stadium, Pukekohe 7.35pm
Friday 24 May: Chiefs v Crusaders – Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, 7.35pm
Friday 28 June: Chiefs v Hurricanes – Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, 7.35pm

The Chiefs have already launched their season membership renewal programme, rewarding previous members with the same seat at the same price . New 2013 season memberships will go on sale in November in time to make an ideal Christmas gift. Visit for more information.

Chiefs 2013 Investec Super Rugby Squad

Ben Afeaki Prop North Harbour
Bundee Aki Midfield back Counties Manukau
Gareth Anscombe* First five-eighth Auckland
Sam Cane Loose forward Bay of Plenty
Craig Clarke Lock Taranaki
Nick Crosswell * Loose forward Manawatu
Aaron Cruden First five-eight h Manawatu
Hikawera Elliot Hooker Hawke’s Bay
Ross Filipo* Loose forward Wellington
Mike Fitzgerald Lock Manawatu
Romana Graham Lock Waikato
Josh Hohneck Prop Bay of Plenty
Andrew Horrell Utility back Hawke’s Bay
Richard Kahui Midfield back Waikato
Tawera Kerr-Barlow Halfback Waikato
Tanerau Latimer Loose forward Bay of Plenty
Fritz Lee No 8 Counties Manukau
Brendon Leonard Halfback Waikato
Rhys Marshall* Hooker Taranaki
Lelia Masaga Winger Bay of Plenty
Liam Messam Loose forward Waikato
Tim Nanai-Williams Outside back Counties Manukau
Charlie Ngatai* Midfield back Wellington
Patrick Osborne* Winger Canterbury
Augustine Pulu Halfback Counties Manukau
Brodie Retallick Lock Bay of Plenty
Robbie Robinson Fullback Southland
Mahonri Schwalger Hooker Counties Manukau
Toby Smith Prop Waikato
Solomona Sakalia* Prop Wellington
Ben Tameifuna Prop Hawke’s Bay
Asaeli Tikoirotuma Winger Manawatu