Henry Speight returns to the wing for his first appearance since fracturing his jaw in Round 5 when the Brumbies take on the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.
Australia’s top try-scorer in 2012 and 2013, Speight has been limited to just four appearances for the Brumbies in 2014, after collecting a loose elbow to the jaw against the Waratahs which ultimately required surgery.
But since then, Speight has returned to full health and is now ready to face the Cheetahs. He comes into the team for Joe Tomane who fractures his eye socket last week against the Sharks.
South African born JP Smith returns to the bench in place of Ruaidhri Murphy in an otherwise unchanged team from the one which beat the Sharks in Canberra last Saturday.
Director of Rugby Laurie Fisher said the Cheetahs presented the Brumbies with a significant challenge.

“The Cheetahs are a side we haven’t beaten in South Africa since 2009 and who always put in a strong performance against the Brumbies,” he said.

“It’s pleasing to have a guy like Henry available for selection. We all know how dangerous he is with the ball so it’ll be good to see him take advantage of any opportunities which may come his way.

“We are focussed on getting this tour off to a good start and claiming a win over the Cheetahs on the Highveld would certainly tick a few boxes.”

The last time the Brumbies visited Bloemfontein was in 2011 when the team was soundly beaten, 47-36. Despite finishing fast that evening, the UC Brumbies could not overcome a 32-24 half time deficit.

Then-Cheetah, Sias Ebersohn landed 21 points off the boot, with the Cheetahs scoring three tries and a 60 metre field goals inside the first 11 minutes to stun the Brumbies into submission.

Brumbies XV

1. Scott Sio
2. Stephen Moore
3. Ben Alexander
4. Scott Fardy
5. Sam Carter 
6. Fotu Auelua
7. Jarrad Butler
8. Ben Mowen (C)
9. Nic White
10. Matt Toomua
11. Robbie Coleman
12. Christian Lealiifano
13. Tevita Kuridrani 
14. Henry Speight
15. Jesse Mogg


16. Josh Mann-Rea
17. Ruan Smith                                          
18. JP Smith                                     
19. Jordan Smiler
20. Tom McVerry
21. Conrad Hoffmann         
22. Andrew Smith 
23. Pat McCabe