The 2017 Super Rugby season enters the penultimate round this weekend with the Australian teams returning to action to join the South African teams in Round 16 following the conclusion of the June Test window. The New Zealand teams will re-enter the competition for the last round next week following the completion of the British & Irish Lions series in New Zealand, having played their Round 16 prior to the Lions Test series.

The eight quarter-finalists have been decided - the four Conference winners (Crusaders, Lions, Stormers, Brumbies) and the four wild card teams (Hurricanes, Chiefs, Highlanders and Sharks). However, the final positions and the quarter-final seedings that determine who plays who are yet to be finalised. This will come down to the wire and the final Round of Super Rugby. Round 17 will see all 18 teams in action.

Round 16 will be important for the Brumbies and Stormers who are fighting it out to determine who will finish as third and fourth seeds as Conference winners. The eventual third seed will play the sixth placed wild card while the fourth seed will play the fifth placed wild card.

The Stormers host the Sunwolves in Cape Town while on paper the Brumbies have a harder assignment playing away against the Reds Brisbane. Click HERE for Super Rugby Match Centre.

To date across the 121 Super Rugby matches played this season we have seen an incredible 847 tries scored with the Hurricanes setting a new season record with 85. Indeed Hurricanes backs Vince Aso and Ngani Laumape lead the individual statistics with 14 tries each.

Current Finals Standings

Click HERE for full Conference Table Standings


Quarter-final Draw:
The teams winning places in the Finals (Conference winners and wild cards) will be ranked 1-8 based on the final number of competition points attained.
Seeds 1-4:  Conference winners determined by final points attained.
Seeds 5-8: Wild cards determined by final points attained.

QF1: 1 v 8

QF2: 2 v 7

QF3: 3 v 6

QF4: 4 v 5

Semi-final Draw:
Pre-determined draw as follows:

SF1: Winner QF1 v Winner QF4

SF2: Winner QF2 v Winner QF3

Click HERE for full competition format details including tie-breaking rules (for teams on same number of points)