Late Stormers blitz hits Rebels

02 Jul 2016
Late Stormers blitz hits Rebels

The Stormers recorded a bonus point win as they beat the Rebels 57-31 in Melbourne as the visitors dominated the set pieces. 

It was an 11-try thriller in Melbourne as both teams ran with the ball brilliantly. The battle of the tens was evident as Du Plessis and Debreczeni both had fantastic games for their sides, scoring tries and had great days on the tee. 

The Rebels dominated the Stormers in the first 10 minutes but the complete lack of any real successful set piece prospects started to really hamper the Rebels' play. The Stormers scrum and line out were impressive throughout.

The score at half-time was 23-17 to the Stormers after a try just before the end of the half. The statistics at the end of the first half were incredibly telling of the game. The Stormers seemed must have put a lot of work into their line outs during the international break. The Rebels lost four of their scrums as the Stormers wheeled them around the park and lost three of their own line-outs, while the Cape Tonians won all of their own set pieces. 

The Stormers had 57 per cent of the possession in the first half, forcing the Rebels to make the Lion's share of the tackles with 54 to the Stormers' 38. The set piece issues continued in the second half, after a masterful kick down field from du Plessis, the Rebels lost their own line-out on their own 5m line, and Etzebeth barged over. The possession statistics didn't change much as the Stormers finshed the game with 55 per cent to the Rebels 45. 

The Rebels discipline also let them down as they conceded nine penalties and a got given a yellow card when Adam Thomson was given a yellow card for collapsing the Stormers' maul 5m from his side's line. 

The scorers:

For Rebels:

Tries: Naivalu, Meehan, Placid, Debreczeni

Cons: Debreczeni 3

Pens: Debreczeni

Yellow cards: Thomson

For Stormers:

Tries: du Plessis, Koch, Etzebeth, Groom, Damian de Allende, Zas, Ntubeni

Cons: du Plessis 3

Pens: du Plessis 5

The teams:

Melbourne Rebels: 15 Mike Harris, 14 Jonah Placid, 13 Sefa Naivalu, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Tom English, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Ben Meehan, 8 Colby Fainga’a 7, Sean McMahon (c), 6 Jordy Reid, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Toby Smith, 2 James Hanson, 1 Cruze Ah Nau 

Replacements: 16 Pat Leafa, 17 Tom Moloney, 18 Laurie Weeks, 19 Culum Retallick, 20 Adam Thomson, 21 Mick Snowden, 22 Mitch Inman, 23 Paul Asquith

Stormers: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Daniel du Plessis, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Schalk Burger (c), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble

Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 JP Smith, 19 JD Schickerling, 20 Rynhardt Elstadt, 21 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 22 Louis Schreuder, 23 Scott van Breda

Date: Saturday, July 2

Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne

Kick-off: 19:45 local (09:45 GMT)

Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)

Assistant Referees: Nic Berry (Australia), Amy Perrett (Australia)

TMO: Ian Smith (Australia)