Super Rugby Quarter-Finals Confirmed

16 Jul 2017
Super Rugby Quarter-Finals Confirmed

After 17 Rounds and 135 matches the quarter-finalists for the 2017 Super Rugby have been confirmed by SANZAAR.

Following the Crusaders 22-31 loss to the Hurricanes the Lions 27-10 win over the Sharks away in Durban saw them finish as the top ranked team. The Crusaders winning streak came to an end in Wellington and they ended up as the second ranked side entering the quarter-finals.

The Conference winners and their rankings are therefore:

Crusaders [1], Lions [2], Stormers [3], Brumbies [4].

The four wild card teams (best runner up from South Africa Conferences 1 & 2, and three next best teams from the Australian & New Zealand Conferences) are:

Hurricanes [5], Chiefs [6], Highlanders [7], Sharks [8].


2017 Super Rugby Quarter-final Draw

QF1: Lions [1] versus Sharks [8]

QF2: Crusaders [2] versus Highlanders [7]

QF3: Stormers [3] versus Chiefs [6]

QF4: Brumbies [4] versus Hurricanes [5]


Quarter-final Match Schedule (all times local)

Fri July 21: Brumbies v Hurricanes, Canberra @ 19:35

Sat July 22: Crusaders v Highlanders, Christchurch @ 19:35

Sat July 22: Lions v Sharks, Johannesburg @ 14:30

Sat July 22 Stormers v Chiefs, Cape Town @ 17:00

Click HERE for full match schedule details including kick-off times)
Click HERE for full Super Rugby Standings (17 Regular Season Rounds)

Semi-final Draw:
Pre-determined draw as follows (highest ranked team to host):

SF1: Winner QF1 v Winner QF4

SF2: Winner QF2 v Winner QF3

Final Draw:
(highest ranked team to host):

Final: Winner SF1 v Winner SF 2