Argentina's Martin Landajo cited for alleged foul play

06 Oct 2013
Argentina's Martin Landajo cited for alleged foul play

Martin Landajo of Argentina has been cited for alleged foul play during a Rugby Championship match at the weekend.

Landajo is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (b) Stamping or trampling when he made contact with Australian winger Adam Ashley-Cooper and hooker Saia Faingaa at a breakdown.

The incident occurred in the 58th minute during the match between Argentina and Australia played at Estadio Gigante de Arroyito in Rosario on Saturday 5th October 2013.

The referee for the match Wayne Barnes spoke to the player after awarding a penalty for a tackle infringement.

Upon further review of the match footage the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play

The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton.

All SANZAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.