Draw released for The Rugby Championship 2013

08 Mar 2013
Draw released for The Rugby Championship 2013

SANZAR today announced the full draw for The Rugby Championship’s second year, kicking off with a popular clash between the Wallabies and 2012 season’s winners, the All Blacks, at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on Saturday 17 August.

That same day the Springboks will host the Pumas at Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein.

The Pumas will replicate the 2012 draw for their home matches and the Pumas will play their first home match of The Rugby Championship in Round Two against the Springboks at the Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza on Saturday 24 August, with the All Blacks hosting the Wallabies at Westpac Stadium in Wellington the same day.

Test matches in Brisbane, Hamilton, Perth, Auckland, Cape Town and La Plata will follow during The Rugby Championship in 2013.

The final round will be played in Johannesburg between the Springboks and the All Blacks at Coca-Cola Park Stadium, while the Pumas will host the final match of the Championship by hosting the Wallabies at Estadio Gigante de Arroyito, in Rosario.

The two travel byes will take place on Saturday 31 August and Saturday 21 September respectively.

SANZAR CEO Greg Peters said it was exciting to release the draw for The Rugby Championship as Test rugby closed out for the year.

“In 2012 we saw The Rugby Championship played for the first time, welcoming the Pumas into the fold alongside the original Tri-Nations teams, which saw the All Blacks claim inaugural success with an
unbeaten charge to the title,” Peters said.

“The Rugby Championship will again feature the best teams in the world. With the recent End of Year Tests yielding 10 victories for our competing rugby nations."

"The Pumas claimed a historic win in Cardiff against Six Nations champions Wales, the Springboks went through Europe unbeaten, while the All Blacks and Wallabies won three of their four Tests.”

Mr Peters said that the new dimension that Argentina brought to The Rugby Championship was evident with the fan response through the six rounds.

“A total of over 16 million viewers tuned into the twelve Tests of The Rugby Championship and an average of 44,000 attended the matches, which saw stadiums at 91% capacity, with the 88,739 crowd that saw the All Blacks come back from a half time deficit to defeat the Springboks 32-16 at FNB Stadium in Soweto the most attended match of the season,” Peters said.

"The first round of action, with the Wallabies playing the All Blacks in Sydney, and the Springboks hosting the Pumas in Bloemfontein, will have added spice considering the last time each of these two
nations played – the result was an 18-18 and 16-16 draw respectively.”

"We are also pleased to announce that the format for 2013 will be consistent with the recent season to enable Unions and fans to have certainty on which weekends matches will be played in their territories."

The draw, with confirmed dates and venues, is attached.

Full kick off times will be confirmed at a later date by SANZAR, as will all other particulars involving The Rugby Championship in 2013.

2013 DRAW














Saturday 17 August

Australia v New Zealand

ANZ Stadium, Sydney


Saturday 17 August

South Africa v Argentina

Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein






Saturday 24 August

New Zealand v Australia

Westpac Stadium, Wellington


Saturday 24 August

Argentina v South Africa

Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza


Saturday 31 August







Saturday 7 September

Australia v South Africa

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane


Saturday 7 September

New Zealand v Argentina

Waikato Stadium, Hamilton






Saturday 14 September

Australia v Argentina

Patersons Stadium, Perth


Saturday 14 September

New Zealand v South Africa

Eden Park, Auckland


Saturday 21 September







Saturday 28 September

South Africa v Australia

DHL Newlands Stadium, Cape Town


Saturday 28 September

Argentina v New Zealand

Estadio Ciudad de La Plata, La Plata






Saturday 5 October

South Africa v New Zealand

Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg


Saturday 5 October

Argentina v Australia

Estadio Gigante de Arroyito, Rosario