Sweeping changes have been made to the All Blacks by selectors with 12 changes to the side that lost 40-29 to Ireland in Chicago last weekend.

Regular captain Kieran Read has been rested with Sam Cane taking over the captaincy for just the second time in his career. Other talking points are the inclusion of Steven Luatua at No.8 for his first Test start in 2016 and the potential Test debuts of hooker Liam Coltman and outside back Rieko Ioane from the bench.

There are seven survivors from the side that last played Italy in 2012 with Wyatt Crockett, Charlie Faumuina, Brodie Retallick, Sam Cane, Aaron Smith, Tawera Kerr-Barlow and Aaron Cruden all backing up. On that day, Italy trailed the All Blacks 13-7 at halftime before the All Blacks pulled away in the second half to win 42-10. Aaron Cruden was a standout with 17 points and gets a chance to repeat his efforts with a start in the ten jersey.

With an average age of 25 and average of 22 caps per player, the All Blacks go into the Italian clash with one of its youngest and most inexperienced sides in recent history. Of the match day 23, nine players have less than 10 caps, including two potential debutants on the bench in Liam Coltman and Rieko Ioane.

At just 19-years-old, Ioane will become just the 13th All Black to debut aged 19. The youngest All Blacks Test debutant was Jonah Lomu at 19 years and 45 days. Ioane will debut at 19 years and 238 days should he take the field in Rome.

New Zealand

1. Wyatt Crockett
2. Codie Taylor
3. Charlie Faumuina
4. Patrick Tuipulotu
5. Scott Barrett
6. Elliot Dixon
7. Sam Cane - captain
8. Steven Luatua
9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow
10. Aaron Cruden
11. Waisake Naholo
12. Anton Lienert-Brown
13. Malakai Fekitoa
14. Israel Dagg
15. Damian McKenzie 

16. Liam Coltman
17. Joe Moody
18. Ofa Tu'ungafasi
19. Brodie Retallick
20. Matt Todd
21. Aaron Smith
22. Lima Sopoaga
23. Rieko Ioane *


15. Edoardo Padovani
14. Giulio Bisegni
13. Tommaso Benvenuti
12. Luke Mclean
11. Angelo Esposito
10. Carlo Canna
9. Giorgio Bronzini
8. Sergio Parisse (C)
7. Simone Favaro
6. Maxime Mbanda
5. Andries Van Schalkwyk
4. Marco Fuser
3. Lorenzo Cittadini
2. Leonardo Ghiraldini
1. Andrea Lovotti

16. Ornel Gega
17. Sami Panico
18. Pietro Ceccarelli
19. George Biagi
20. Francesco Minto
21. Edoardo Gori
22. Tommaso Allan
23. Tommaso Boni