SANZAR announces draw for The Rugby Championship 2014

03 Dec 2013
SANZAR announces draw for The Rugby Championship 2014

The Rugby Championship 2014 kicks off on August 16 with a trans-Tasman showdown that could present New Zealand with an opportunity to add yet another honour to its already glittering record.

Should the All Blacks sweep England on home soil in June, a win against Australia at ANZ Stadium in Sydney would break the tier-one world record of 17 consecutive wins, currently shared by New Zealand (1965-69) and South Africa (1997-98).

The All Blacks’ streak stands at 14 after an unprecedented perfect season but South Africa will be seeking to break the World Champions’ stranglehold on The Rugby Championship when they open their 2014 campaign against Argentina at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria.

The Springboks came so close to unseating the defending champions in this year’s thrilling finale before succumbing 38-27 in front of a packed Ellis Park in what has been widely discussed as one of the best rugby matches in history.

The 2014 format remains consistent with previous years which means a repeat clash will once again take place in the final round at Johannesburg while the Wallabies visit Argentina later in the day to bring The Rugby Championship to a close.

SANZAR CEO Greg Peters said he is looking forward to watching the world’s best teams resume their ongoing rivalry in 2014.

“As New Zealand, Australia and South Africa end their European Tours as the world’s top three nations and with Argentina entrenched inside the top 10, The Rugby Championship continues to pit the best against the best.

“We couldn’t have hoped for a more thrilling culmination to this year’s edition of The Rugby Championship and 2014 promises to up the ante with the gap between champions and challengers narrowing with each contest.

“We look forward to delivering The Rugby Championship to a new market in New Zealand with Napier’s McLean Park scheduled to host New Zealand and Argentina while the Gold Coast returns to the Australian rotation with the Wallabies and Pumas scheduled to do battle at Skilled Park on September 13.”

McLean Park will become the 27th stadium overall and the eighth in New Zealand to host a match in The Rugby Championship/Tri-Nations history. The 22,000-seat venue staged two matches as part of Rugby World Cup 2011 and will welcome the All Blacks for just the second time, the first being a 51-10 win over Samoa in 1996.

Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium will host the third Bledisloe Cup clash between Australia and New Zealand on October 18, which is not part of The Rugby Championship schedule.

Kick-off times will be confirmed in early 2014, as will venues for Argentina’s home matches which are still subject to UAR approval.

16 August Australia v New Zealand ANZ Stadium, Sydney
16 August South Africa v Argentina Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
23 August New Zealand v Australia Eden Park, Auckland
23 August Argentina v South Africa TBC, Argentina
30 August BYE BYE
6 September Australia v South Africa Patersons Stadium, Perth
6 September New Zealand v Argentina McLean Park, Napier
13 September Australia v Argentina Skilled Park, Gold Coast
13 September New Zealand v South Africa Westpac Stadium, Wellington
20 September BYE BYE
27 September South Africa v Australia DHL Newlands, Cape Town
27 September Argentina v New Zealand TBC, Argentina
4 October South Africa v New Zealand Ellis Park, Johannesburg
4 October Argentina v Australia TBC, Argentina