SANZAR JUDICIAL: Tomas Lavanini cited

07 Sep 2014
SANZAR JUDICIAL: Tomas Lavanini cited

Tomas Lavanini of Argentina has been cited for alleged foul play during a Rugby Championship match at the weekend.

Lavanini is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (h) Dangerous Charging when he made contact with New Zealand player, Richie McCaw during the match between New Zealand and Argentina at McLean Park in Napier on Saturday 6 September 2014. The referee for the match, Pascal Gauzere, awarded a penalty for the incident. 

Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play

The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Adam Casselden.

All SANZAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.