The Springboks have made several changes for the Test against England at Twickenham in London. Only five players who started in the 31-31 draw against the Barbarians last week at Wembley are included in a much changed line-up for the Test. They are Tendai Mtawarira (prop), Pieter-Steph du Toit (flank), Rudy Paige (scrumhalf), Pat Lambie (flyhalf) and Francois Venter (outside centre).

Venter will make his Test debut following his good showing last week at Wembley and his centre partner is Damian de Allende...

The injury to Roelof Smit and a host of other flankers has meant Springbok coach Allister Coetzee was forced into revamping his backrow. Du Toit moves from second row to the side of the scrum, a position he is familiar with, while the experienced Willem Alberts will start on the other side of the scrum. Warren Whiteley retains the No 8 jersey.

Du Toit’s positional switch means a return to the starting team for Lood de Jager, who sat out the Barbarians fixture because of a one-match suspension.

In the front row, hooker Adriaan Strauss returns to action and he takes over the captaincy from Patrick Lambie who led the side at Wembley. Vincent Koch will play at tighthead prop and Lourens Adriaanse moves to the bench.

The halfback combination of Paige and Lambie are kept unchanged. Wing JP Pietersen returns to the side and will wear the No 11 jersey, the position he usually plays for his club side, the Leicester Tigers.

Ruan Combrinck will play on the right wing, and Willie le Roux at fullback, which means a return to the back three that played in the three Test series against Ireland in June.

Coetzee said , “We are going to use this tour to test various combinations and rotate players to ensure we move in the right direction.”

“The challenge this week will definitely start up front as the English pack paved the way for their series win over the Wallabies in Australia. It will be a physical challenge and the set-piece battle could prove to be the decisive.

“I believe we have selected the best available team for this Saturday. We have a long list of injured loose forwards, with all of Roelof Smit, Marcell Coetzee, Francois Louw, Jaco Kriel, Siya Kolisi and Sikumbuzo Notshe injured, while a couple are also unavailable for selection.”

“They are always formidable at Twickenham and they are definite favourites, but we are looking forward to another huge battle against them,” said Coetzee.

South Africa

15. Willie le Roux (39)
14. Ruan Combrinck (4)
13. Francois Venter (13)
12. Damian de Allende (20)
11. JP Pietersen (69)
10. Pat Lambie (53)
9. Rudy Paige (5)
8. Warren Whiteley (12)
7. Pieter-Steph du Toit (17)
6. Willem Alberts (41)
5. Lood de Jager (25)
4. Eben Etzebeth (53)
3. Vincent Koch (7)
2. Adriaan Strauss (63) Captain
1. Tendai Mtawarira (84)

16. Bongi Mbonambi (3)
17. Steven Kitshoff (7)
18. Lourens Adriaanse (4)
19. Franco Mostert (4)
20. Nizaam Carr (2)
21. Faf de Klerk (8)
22. Johan Goosen (10)
23. Lionel Mapoe (9)


15. Mike Brown
14. Marland Yarde
13. Elliot Daly
12. Owen Farrell
11. Jonny May
10. George Ford
9. Ben Youngs
8. Billy Vunipola
7. Tom Wood
6. Chris Robshaw
5. Courtney Lawes
4. Joe Launchbury
3. Dan Cole
2. Dylan Hartley
1. Mako Vunipola

16. Jamie George
17. Joe Marler
18. Kyle Sinckler
19. Dave Attwood
20. Nathan Hughes
21. Danny Care
22. Ben Te'o
23. Jonathan Joseph