Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made four changes to his starting fifteen ahead of the the Round Three Rugby Championship clash with South Africa at Perth's nib Stadium.

Tatafu Polota-Nau will wear the number two jersey with Sekope Kepu to start alongside him in the scrum as Allan Alaalatoa shifts to the reserves.

Adam Coleman returns to the starting side following his late withdrawal prior to the second Bledisloe Cup clash but Dane Haylett-Petty will miss the remainder of the year with the winger to undergo surgery on a biceps injury.

Saturday night is set to cap a rapid rise for hooker Jordan Uelese, with the 20-year-old in line to become Wallaby 912 after he was named to debut off the bench.

Uelese is set to be the ninth Wallabies debutant of 2017, after rocketing into Wallabies contention following his performances for the Australia U20s at this year's World U20 Championships in Georgia.

Flanker Jack Dempsey is on the bench and in line for just his second Wallabies cap after his debut against Italy in June, while Samu Kerevi returns to the matchday 23 in the number 22 jersey.

At present, three players have been released for Round Two of the National Rugby Championship with Izaia Perese (Queensland Country), Kane Douglas and Adam Korczyk (Brisbane City) to play this weekend.

Saturday night's clash is vital for Michael Cheika's side with the Wallabies currently third on the Rugby Championship table after collecting just one bonus point from the opening two rounds.

South Africa currently top the standings following two convincing wins against Argentina, although history is in Australia's favour with the Wallabies having won their last three at home against the Springboks.

The two sides last met in Perth in 2014 as Australia snuck home for a memorable 24-23 win, thanks to a last-gasp try from Rob Horne.

1. Scott Sio (34 Tests)
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (73 Tests)
3. Sekope Kepu (82 Tests)
4. Rory Arnold (14 Tests)
5. Adam Coleman (13 Tests)
6. Ned Hanigan (5 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (70 Tests)
8. Sean McMahon (17 Tests)
9. Will Genia (80 Tests)
10. Bernard Foley (47 Tests)
11. Reece Hodge (15 Tests)
12. Kurtley Beale (62 Tests)
13. Tevita Kuridrani (49 Tests)
14. Henry Speight (14 Tests)
15. Israel Folau (57 Tests)

16. Jordan Uelese*
17. Tom Robertson (11 Tests)
18. Allan Alaalatoa (14 Tests)
19. Rob Simmons (73 Tests)
20. Jack Dempsey (1 Test)
21. Nick Phipps (53 Tests)
22. Samu Kerevi (9 Tests)
23. Curtis Rona (1 Test)