The high-flying Blues have produced a rare shut out of the neighbouring Chiefs, triumphing 25-0 for their sixth win to go top of the Super Rugby Pacific ladder.

All Blacks playmaker Beauden Barrett helped set up two tries for backrower Tom Robinson and one for replacement A.J. Lam in Saturday night's clash in Hamilton.

Robinson scored in the 16th minute and again in the 53rd to help the Blues secure the dominant win.

The Blues' triumph came in spite of receiving three yellow cards, including two in quick succession to lock Luke Romano and halfback Sam Nock, which left them with only 13 men at the end of the first and start of the second half.

The Blues dominated possession in the first half and their defence was equal to any threat the Chiefs posed in the second as they claimed a bonus-point win.

It sets up a huge match for the Blues against the Crusaders, who are also 6-1 and on 27 points, in Christchurch on Friday.

The Chiefs (4-3) lost All Blacks centre Anton Lienert-Brown to a shoulder injury in just the seventh minute.

Blues 20 (Tries: Tom Robinson 2, AJ Lam. Con: Stephen Perofeta 2. Pen: Stephen Perofeta 2) 
HT: 0-13

CHIEFS: 15 Kaleb Trask 14: Emoni Narawa 13: Anton Lienert-Brown 12: Alex Nankivell 11: Etene Nanai-Seturo 10: Bryn Gatland 9: Brad Weber (cc) 8: Pita Gus Sowakula 7: Sam Cane (cc) 6: Kaylum Boshier 5: Naitoa Ah Kuoi 4: Josh Lord 3: Angus Ta’avao 2: Samisoni Taukei’aho 1: Aidan Ross

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 George Dyer, 19 Samipeni Finau, 20 Luke Jacobson, 21 Cortez Ratima, 22 Quinn Tupaea 23 Chase Tiatia

BLUES: 15 Stephen Perofeta, 14 Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens, 13 Rieko Ioane 12 Bryce Heem, 11 Mark Telea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Sam Nock, 8 Hoskins Sotutu 7 Dalton Papalii, 6 Tom Robinson,  5 Josh Goodhue 4 Luke Romano, 3 Ofa Tuungafasi, 2 Kurt Eklund, 1 Alex Hodgman.

Replacements: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Jordan Lay 18 Marcel Renata, 19 James Tucker, 20 Adrian Choat, 21 Lisati Milo-Harris, 22 Tanielu Tele’a, 23 AJ Lam

Referee: Paul Williams
Assistant referees: Angus Mabey, Mike Winter