The Crusaders have put a seal on one of the great eras of rugby union domination with a 25-20 victory over the Chiefs in the Super Rugby Pacific final, sending coach Scott Robertson off to the All Blacks with a seventh straight title.

The Christchurch-based powerhouse handed the Chiefs only a second loss of the season to silence a full house at Hamilton's Waikato Stadium on Saturday and secure a 14th Super Rugby title of all types in the 28 years since rugby went professional.

Hooker Codie Taylor crossed for a converted try, his second, from a rolling maul in the 73rd minute for the winning score and the Crusaders held out the Chiefs, reduced to 14 men for the third time in the match, to secure the victory.

The Chiefs scored tries through fullback Shaun Stevenson and flying winger Emoni Narawa and held a 20-15 lead on the hour mark, but were unable to secure a first Super Rugby title since they went back-to-back in 2012-23. 


CHIEFS (1-15): Aidan Ross, Samisoni Taukei'aho, George Dyer, Brodie Retallick, Tupou Vaai, Pita Gus Sowakula, Sam Cane (co-c), Luke Jacobson, Brad Weber (co-c), Damian McKenzie, Etene Nanai-Seturo, Anton Lienert-Brown, Alex Nankivell, Emoni Narawa, Shaun Stevenson

RESERVES: Tyrone Thompson, Ollie Norris, John Ryan, Naitoa Ah Kuoi, Samipeni Finau, Cortez Ratima, Josh Ioane, Rameka Poihipi

CRUSADERS (1-15): Tamaiti Williams, Codie Taylor, Oliver Jager, Scott Barrett (c), Sam Whitelock, Sione Havili Talitui, Tom Christie, Christian Lio-Willie, Mitchell Drummond, Richie Mo'unga, Leicester Fainga'anuku, Jack Goodhue, Braydon Ennor, Dallas McLeod, Will Jordan

RESERVES: Brodie McAlister, Kershawl Sykes-Martin, Reuben O'Neill, Quinten Strange, Dominic Gardiner, Corey Kellow, Willi Heinz, Fergus Burke, Chay Fihaki

Referee: Ben O'Keeffe

Assistant Referees: Nic Berry, Angus Gardner


TRIES: Taylor 2, Mo'unga

CONS: Mo'unga 2/3

PENS: Mo'unga 2/2, Fihaki 0/1


TRIES: Stevenson, Narawa

CONS: McKenzie 2/2

PENS: McKenzie 2/4