Fijian Drua have exacted some revenge on Moana Pasifika, holding out their rivals to secure a hard-fought 24-17 Super Rugby Pacific victory  in Lautoka.

After suffering a three-point loss in Super Round back in early March, the Drua made amends to consolidate their place inside the finals-bound top eight.

Winger Taniela Rakuro scored two tries, opening his haul in the first minute after a break by Iosefo Masi, with the match played in scorching heat that didn't deter a big home crowd at Churchill Park.

The Drua lost hooker Mesulame Doge to a yellow card for a high tackle, but Moana were unable to take advantage of the overlap with their opponents, instead collecting three points through the boot of Isaiah Armsttong-Ravula.

The Drua then pushed the score out to a halftime margin of 17-0, with winger Selestino Ravutaumada crossing at the 35-minute mark.

Moana Pasifika opened their account seven minutes into the second stanza through centre Henry Taefu.

When Rakuro scored his second try in the 68th minute, crossing in the corner after a quick ball from the ruck, it looked like the Drua would cruise to victory.

But Moana kept coming, and with tries scored by Sione Havili Talitui and Sama Malolo in the space of four minutes, they were back in the hunt.

It made for a frantic final few minutes, but the Drua's defence stood tall to secure a valuable win. 

Fijian Drua 17 [Tries: Rakuro 2, Ravutaumada; Cons: Armstrong-Ravula 3; Pen: Armstrong-Ravula] Moana Pasifika 24 [Tries: Taefu, Havili, Malolo; Con: Leali’ifano]


Drua: 15 Ilaisa Droasese, 14 Selestino Ravutaumada, 13 Iosefo Masi, 12 Apisalome Vota, 11 Taniela Rakuro, 10 Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula, 9 Peni Matawalu, 8 Meli Derenalagi, 7 Kitione Salawa, 6 Etonia Waga, 5 Leone Rotuisolia, 4 Isoa Nasilasila, 3 Mesake Doge, 2 Zuriel Togiatama, 1 Haereiti Hetet.
Replacements: 16 Mesu Dolokoto, 17 Livai Natave, 18 Samu Tawake, 19 Mesake Vocevoce, 20 Vilive Miramira, 21 Elia Canakaivata, 22 Simione Kuruvoli, 23 Michael Naitokani.

Moana: 15 Danny Toala, 14 Viliami Fine, 13 Henry Taefu, 12 Julian Savea, 11 Fine Inisi, 10 William Havili, 9 Ereatara Enari, 8 Sione Havili Talitui, 7 Jacob Norris, 6 Irie Papuni, 5 Allan Craig, 4 Tom Savage, 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 Samiuela Moli, 1 Abraham Pole.
Replacements: 16 Sama Malolo, 17 Sateki Latu, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19 Ola Tauelangi, 20 Lotu Inisi, 21 Jonathan Taumateine, 22 Christian Lealiifano, 23 Neria Fomai.

Referee: Graham Cooper
Assistant referees: George Myers, James Palmer
TMO: Oli Kellett