Moana Pasifika had three early matches postponed due to COVID-19 and have twice had to play three matches in eight days to make up.

The toll of that schedule showed as the Hurricanes ran away with the match after leading 22-5 at halftime in Wellington.

Moana Pasifika beat the Hurricanes 24-19 in their first meeting of the season but were not able to repeat that performance against a more clinical home team.

Alex Fidow scored the Hurricanes' first try after only two minutes but Moana Pasifika hit back with a try to Michael Curry.

Blake Gibson and Wes Goosen scored tries within six minutes of each other to boost the Hurricanes' lead at halftime.

The Hurricanes also started the second half strongly with tries in the first eight minutes to Kianu Kereru-Symes and scrumhalf TJ Perenara. 

Perenara's try was his 53rd in Super Rugby, placing him joint third on the all-time try-scoring list.

Gibson added a second and Pasilio Tosi and captain Reed Princep also touched down in a dominant second spell while Moana Pasifika scored a second through Alex McRobbie.

Hurricanes 53 (Tries: Fidow, Gibson 2, Goosen, Kereru-Symes, Perenara, Tosi, Prinsep. Cons: Love 4, Morgan. Pen: Morgan) Moana Pasifika 12 (Tires: Curry, McRobbie. Con: Leali’ifano). HT: 22-5


HURRICANES: 15 Ruben Love, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Bailyn Sullivan, 12 Peter Umaga-Jensen, 11 Salesi Rayasi, 10 Aidan Morgan, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Devan Flanders, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Tom Parsons, 4 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 3 Tevita Mafileo, 2 Kianu Kereru-Symes, 1 Alex Fidow

RESERVES: 16 Kianu Kereru-Symes, 17 Jared Proffit, 18 Pasilio Tosi, 19 Justin Sangster, 20 Te Kamaka (TK) Howden, 21 Cam Roigard, 22 Teihorangi Walden, 23 Josh Moorby


MOANA PASIFIKA: 15 Lolagi Visinia, 14 Tima Fainga’anuku, 13 Levi Aumua, 12 Danny Toala, 11 Neria Foma’i, 10 Christian Leali’ifano, 9 Jonathan Taumateine, 8 Henry Time-Stowers, 7 Alamanda Motuga, 6 Alex McRobbie, 5 Samuel Slade, 4 Mahonri Ngakuru, 3 Joe ‘Apikotoa, 2 Samiuela Moli, 1 Abraham Pole

RESERVES: 16 Ray Niuia, 17 Ezekiel Lindenmuth, 18 Taukiha’amea Koloamatangi, 19 Michael Curry, 20 Penitoa Finau, 21 Manu Paea, 22 Lincoln McClutchie, 23 Henry Taefu


Referee: Dan Waenga

Assistant Referees: Paul Williams, Mike Fraser