The Queensland Reds have avoided one of the great Super Rugby boilovers, surviving an incredible Fijian Drua comeback to win 33-28.

The Reds led 28-9 with 18 minutes to play after scoring their fourth unanswered try before three runaway five-pointers against a tiring Reds defence turned the game on its head.

Five eighth Teti Tela had a chance to put the newcomers ahead of the reigning domestic champions with 10 minutes to play, but hit the post with his conversion.

Instead the Reds, who had substituted a bulk of their biggest names, found a saviour in Seru Uru. 

The No.6 scored in the corner to put the Reds ahead again and then stole a lineout on their own tryline as the Drua pressed for a match-winner.

The match started in top gear with Jordan Petaia making the most of his first crack in the Reds No.15 jersey, bursting down the right flank to score.

Harry Wilson bumped over for one too before an Uru try was reversed due to a forward pass in a brilliant lead-up.

But just like that the wind went out of the game's sails with three yellow cards given in one stoppage after three separate incidents inside 30 seconds of play.

First Josh Nasser's shoulder clash was deemed unacceptable before Harry Hoopert's late hit was frowned upon.

The Drua's Samuela Tawake then joined the Reds duo on the sideline after lifting Uru in the ruck.

Suddenly 13 on 14, the Drua pressed but were held up over the line by a Wilson tackle.

Queensland attacked despite their numerical disadvantage, a spilt pass ruining another brilliant long-range effort as they went to the break up 15-6.

They pushed out to a seemingly comfortable lead before Onisi Ratave, Joseva Tamani and Vinaya Habosi all crossed for the Drua to shock the Reds.

Captain Fraser McReight steadied his side though, the Reds marching up-field to score then hold out the Drua's final push.


REDS 33 (Tries: Jordan Petaia, Harry Wilson, Josh Nasser 2, Seru Uru) FIJIAN DRUA 28 (Tries: Onisi Ratave, Frank Lomani, Vinaya Habosi)


REDS: 15. Jordan Petaia, 14. Jock Campbell, 13. Hunter Paisami, 12. Hamish Stewart, 11. Josh Flook, 10. James O'Connor, 9. Kalani Thomas, 8. Harry Wilson, 7. Fraser McReight (c), 6. Seru Uru, 5. Angus Blyth, 4. Ryan Smith, 3. Taniela Tupou, 2. Josh Nasser, 1. Harry Hoopert

RESERVES: 16. Matt Faessler, 17. Feao Fotuaika, 18. Zane Nonggorr, 19. Connor Vest, 20. Tuiana Taii Tualima, 21. Spencer Jeans, 22. Lawson Creighton, 23. Mac Grealy

FIJIAN DRUA: 15. Baden Kerr, 14. Selesitino Ravutaumada, 13. Apisalome Vota, 12. Kalaveti Ravouvou, 11, Vinaya Habosi, 10. Teti Tela, 9. Peni Matawalu, 8. Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta, 7. Vilive Miramira, 6. Meli Derenalagi (c), 5. Ratu Rotuisolia, 4. Isoa Nasilasila, 3. Samuela Tawake, 2. Mesulame Dolokoto, 1. Kaliopasi Uluilakepa,

RESERVES: 16. Zuriel Togiatama, 17. Jone Koroiduadua, 18. Manasa Saulo, 19. Sorovakatini Tuifagalele, 20. Joseva Tamani, 21. Frank Lomani, 22. Jona Mataiciwa, 23. Onisi Ratave

Referee: Jordan Way

Assistant Referees: Nic Berry, Reuben Keane