(For information on 2020/2021 reformatted Tournaments click HERE)

History - the early days

In 1986 NSW and Queensland played against Auckland, Canterbury and Wellington from New Zealand, as well as a composite Fiji side.

For five years the tournament was played, a South Pacific Championship or Super Six, which led to ‘expansion’ when South Africa re-entered the rugby world and it was reborn into the Super 10 in 1993, where it ran until 1995, prior to the game becoming professional.

In 1996 as SANZAR was formed, the Super 12 was created, a professional competition and the first official ‘international domestic’ tournament featuring the strongest teams – which would become franchises – across New Zealand, South Africa and Australia.

Five franchises were created in New Zealand, merging the 26 domestic unions.  The Kiwi sides are representative of their 'catchment areas' (the collection of unions that make up the franchise).  The three Australian teams were the traditional rugby states of New South Wales and Queensland and a new team from the ACT called the Brumbies.  For the first three years of the competition, South Africa determined its sides via qualification in the Currie Cup, with the four semi-finalists from the previous season taking part, before they loosely followed the Kiwi model and created franchises from combined Currie Cup unions.

In 2006 Super 14 came into fruition, with the Western Force and Cheetahs joining the fold, naturally extending the round-robin regular season competition, while the Super Rugby Final’s Series format of the top four playing semi-finals continued.



In 2011, Super Rugby expanded to 15 teams - with the Melbourne Rebels the new franchise - and was split into three conferences, each with five teams and based in one of the three nations. 

At the same time, the regular season expands to 16 matches with each team will playing a double round-robin within its home conference, and single matches against four teams from each of the other conferences.

The Finals Series expand to six teams, with the conference winners joined by the three non-winners with the most competition points without regard to conference affiliation. The two conference winners with the most competition points received a first-round bye.

In 2011 the Reds became the first Australian team outside the Brumbies to win a title, winning Super Rugby with a victory over the Crusaders in what was dubbed the battle of the hardship teams - with Queensland hit by floods and Christchurch rocked by a earthquake which disrupted both team's season.

The Chiefs went back-to-back the following two years with wins over the Sharks and Brumbies respectively, the Waratahs held the trophy aloft in 2014 with a thrilling win over the Crusaders while the Highlanders beat the Hurricanes to keep the trophy in the final season of Super Rugby as we knew it.


2016 - 2017

In 2016, the evolution of Super Rugby continued with three new sides introduced to an expanded four-conference 18-team.  The Kings from South Africa returned to the fray, along with new teams: the Jaguares from Argentina; and the Sunwolves from Japan, taking Super Rugby to new places, new markets and new crowds.

The 18 teams were arranged in four conferences.

The season comprised 135 regular season matches played across 17 rounds. After the regular season an eight-team, three-week, seven-match finals series determined the overall winner.

Regular Season Pool Matches (two-year rotation)

  • Each team played 15 matches (and has two byes).
  • Each team will played 6 matches within its Conference
  • Each team will played 9 matches against other Conference teams
  • Each team had eight home matches and seven away matches (alternated over the two-year rotational draw cycle)
  • Internal and cross conference opposition ‘swapped’ over the two-year draw cycle. 

Qualify for finals

  • 4 Conference winners  (host quarter-final)
  • 4 wildcards places

Wildcard spots:

  • Best placed runner-up team (based on tournament points) from either Africa 1 or Africa 2 Conference
  • Three next best teams (based on tournament points) from either the New Zealand or Australian Conferences

Quarter-final Draw

The teams winning places in the Finals (Conference winners and wild cards) ranked 1-8 based on the final number of competition points attained and the following order.

QF 1: 1 v 8
QF 2: 2 v 7
QF 3: 3 v 6
QF 4: 4 v 5

Rank 1-4: Conference winners - rank determined by final number competition points
Rank 5-8: Wild card rankings determined by final number competition points

Semi-final Draw:

SF 1: Winner QF 1 v Winner QF 4
SF 2: Winner QF 2 v Winner QF 3


Winner SF1 v Winner SF2

2018 - 2019

In a brave move that recognised that the 18-team format did not work, was confusing and had diluted the standards of the competition, SANZAAR announced in April 2017 that the tournament in 2018 would be restructured. The 18-team, four Conference format was changed to a 15-team, three Conference format. Gone from the competition were the Force (Australia), Kings and Cheetahs (South Africa). The Jaguares remained in the now one South African Conference while the Sunwolves joined the Australia Conference. 

Australian Conference: Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves

New Zealand Conference: Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes

South African Conference: Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares

Each team played 16 regular season Conference matches that included eight matches within their own Conference (home and away) and four matches against teams from each of the other Conferences (home or away). This was 120 matches in the regular season with a seven-match, eight-team finals series.

Points Tabulation

Competition points were awarded in all Regular Season matches on the following basis:

  • Win: 4 points
  • Draw: 2 points
  • Loss: 0 points for a loss of 8+ points
  • Bonus: 1 point for a loss between 1-7 points
  • Bonus: 1 point for scoring 3+ tries more than the opponent
  • Bye: 0 points

Finals Series

Quarter-final Hosts (4 teams)

  • Three Conference winners

  • Best Wildcard team – (based on tournament points) regardless of Conference

Quarter-final Wildcard spots (4 teams)

  • Four next best Wildcard teams (based on tournament points) regardless of Conference 

Tie Breaking Rules:

In the event two or more teams equal on tournament points for any position in their respective conference at end of regular season, the following applied to determine final conference positions:

  1. Most wins from all matches;
  2. Highest aggregate points difference from all matches;
  3. Most tries from all matches;
  4. Highest aggregate difference of total tries for versus tries scored against from all matches;
  5. Coin toss.

Quarter-final Draw:

The teams winning places in the Finals were ranked 1-8 based on Conference Winners and the final number of competition points attained and the following order.

  • Rank 1-3 Conference winners determined by final number competition points
  • Rank 4 – Best Wildcard team based on tournament points
  • Rank 5-8: Wild cards determined by final number competition points

QF 1: 1 v 8
QF 2: 4 v 5
QF 3: 2 v 7
QF 4: 3 v 6

Semi-final Draw:

SF 1: Winner QF 1 v Winner QF 2
SF 2: Winner QF 3 v Winner QF 4


Winner SF1 v Winner SF2


Roll of Honour

Super 12

1996 Blues
1997 Blues
1998 Crusaders
1999 Crusaders
2000 Crusaders
2001 Brumbies
2002 Crusaders
2003 Blues
2004 Brumbies
2005 Crusaders

Super 14

2006 Crusaders
2007 Bulls
2008 Crusaders
2009 Bulls
2010 Bulls

Super Rugby

2011 Reds
2012 Chiefs
2013 Chiefs
2014 Waratahs
2015 Highlanders
2016 Hurricanes
2017 Crusaders
2018 Crusaders
2019 Crusaders
2020 No Winner [cancelled due to pandemic]

Super Rugby Aotearoa (NZ)

2020 Crusaders

Super Rugby AU (Australia)

2020 Brumbies

Super Rugby Unbroken (RSA)

2020 Bulls