The Chiefs have announced their team to play the Blues at Yarrow Stadium this Friday night in what marks their first of two trips to Taranaki this season.

The two-time defending champs have made a pair of changes to the forwards with prop Ben Tameifuna and lock Michael Fitzgerald starting. Bundee Aki comes in to the centres and Tim Nanai-Williams moves to 13 with Tom Marshall at fullback. Josh Hohneck move to the reserves and is joined by Liam Squire who has returned from injury, plus Anton Lienert-Brown.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie said, “It is exciting for us to play our first home game in Taranaki and I know the boys are keen to earn the respect of the locals by putting on a good performance.

"Traditionally our games against the Blues have been real ding-dong battles, and with not much between any team in the New Zealand Conference it is a massive game for both sides.”

Chiefs XV:

1. Pauliasi Manu                              
2. Nathan Harris
3. Ben Tameifuna   
4. Michael Fitzgerald 
5. Brodie Retallick
6. Tanerau Latimer
7. Sam Cane
8. Liam Messam (C)
9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow 
10. Gareth Anscombe
11. James Lowe
12. Bundee Aki
13. Tim Nanai-Williams
14. Dwayne Sweeney
15. Tom Marshall


16. Mahonri Schwalger
17. Jamie Mackintosh                 
18. Josh Hohneck  
19. Matt Symons         
20. Liam Squire
21. Brad Weber                                  
22. Andrew Horrell 
23. Anton Lienert-Brown