Australian trial match action continues this weekend in Roma and Perth.

Teen talent Harry McLaughlin-Phillips has been given a chance to impress with his selection at flyhalf for the Queensland Reds’ trial in Roma, Queensland, against the NSW Waratahs in the Santos Festival of Rugby.

McLaughlin-Phillips, 19, has been handed the No.10 jersey for the trial against the NSW Waratahs on Saturday 10 February at Gallas Park.

The return of Tom Lynagh from a back niggle means coach Les Kiss has scope to trial three flyhalves in this match because Lawson Creighton is also on the extended 13-player bench.

Pack regular Ryan Smith is making a welcome return from a calf niggle while there are also starting chances for Fijian Test prop Peni Ravai, winger Mac Grealy and 2022 Wallaby fullback Jock Campbell.

“We have a variety of skills within the good depth we have at No.10. Harry gets a chance to start after Lawson had the role in our first trial,” Kiss said.

“It’s a good sign too with Ryan getting his first minutes of the season at lock and Josh Nasser returning to add depth at hooker from the bench.”

The trial against the Waratahs is a scene-setter before the same long-time rivals clash in a blockbuster opener to the Super Rugby Pacific season on February 24 at Suncorp Stadium.

Smith is excited to get into action amid the upbeat mood of the annual Santos Festival of Rugby.

“Getting back to Roma will be great. In recent years, we’ve very much stressed as a team that we are the Queensland Reds, not the Brisbane Reds,” Smith said.

“Making sure we get out to the regional centres to put on a good show is really important to continue to grow country rugby because we all know the talent out there.

“It’s been a tough pre-season with lots of running from the new coaches to get us in good nick.

“We always have a tough game against the Waratahs whether it’s a trial or a match during the season. They have a lot of Wallabies in the fold and the tight five is going to be a great area to test our set piece.”

1. Peni Ravai, 2. Matt Faessler, 3. Zane Nonggorr, 4. Seru Uru, 5. Ryan Smith, 6. Liam Wright (co-capt), 7. Fraser McReight, 8. Harry Wilson, 9. Tate McDermott (co-capt), 10. Harry McLaughlin-Phillips, 11. Mac Grealy, 12. Hunter Paisami, 13. Josh Flook, 14. Suliasi Vunivalu, 15. Jock Campbell
16. Josh Nasser, 17. Alex Hodgman, 18. Sef Fa’agase, 19. Connor Vest, 20. John Bryant, 21. Kalani Thomas, 22. Tom Lynagh, 23. Jordan Petaia, 25. Cormac Daly, 26. George Blake
27. Lawson Creighton, 28. Tim Ryan, 29. Isaac Henry

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Queensland Reds at Gallas Fox Park, Roma.

In the men's, Head Coach Darren Coleman has named a strong line-up for the clash with our traditional rivals with the return of skipper Jake Gordon, electric wingers Dylan Pietsch and Mark Nawaqanitawase, and a starting opportunity for the exciting Miles Amatosero.
1. Angus Bell (Sydney University), 2. Mahe Vailanu (Gordon), 3. Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney University), 4. Jed Holloway (Southern Districts), 19. Miles Amatosero (Eastern Suburbs), 6. Lachie Swinton (Sydney University), 7.  Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs), 8. Langi Gleeson (Manly), 9. Jake Gordon © (Sydney University), 10. Tane Edmed (Eastwood), 11.  Dylan Pietsch (Randwick), 12.  Lalakai Foketi (Manly), 13.  Mosese Tuipolotu (Eastern Suburbs), 14. Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood), 15. Joey Walton (Gordon)

16. Theo Fourie (Randwick), 17. Hayden Thompson-Stringer (Manly), 18. Daniel Botha (Sydney University), 20. Ned Slack-Smith (Warringah), 21.  Teddy Wilson (Eastern Suburbs), 22. Jack Bowen (Eastern Suburbs), 23. Harry Wilson (Eastern Suburbs), 25. Triston Reilly (Randwick), 26. Vuate Karawalevu (West Harbour), 27. Ben Distaso (Eastern Suburbs), 28. Jack Barrett (Randwick), 29. Sam Thomson (Warringah), 30. Gabrielle Vendetti (Hunter Wildfires)


Meanwhile, the Safeguard ACT Brumbies Super Rugby Pacific travel to Perth to face the Western Force in their final trial match of 2024 at Revo Fitness Stadium, on Saturday 10 February.

For the second week in a row, Head Coach Stephen Larkham has named 20-year-old lock Lachlan Shaw and athletic No. 8 Charlie Cale in the starting team. The team also sees the return of numerous Wallabies including James Slipper, Nick Frost, Noah Lolesio and Tom Wright. Scrum-half Ryan Lonergan will lead the team out on to Revo Fitness Stadium.
The Brumbies scored a tight 43-40 win over the Fijian Drua last weekend in front of a strong 2,500+ crowd at Viking Park.
Brumbies Head Coach Stephen Larkham said “We experienced a great atmosphere in front of our home crowd last weekend. It was a good opportunity for several of our Academy players to be exposed to first class rugby for the first time. This week we welcome back several experienced players to the field and look forward to seeing how the team performs as we build into the 2024 Super Rugby Pacific season.
The match will serve as the club's final hit out before the Brumbies opening 2024 Super Rugby Pacific fixture against the Melbourne Rebels at AAMI Park on Friday Feb 23.

1. James Slipper (Queanbeyan Whites), 2. Lachlan Lonergan (Tuggeranong Vikings), 3. Rhys Van Nek  (Uni-North Owls), 4. Nick Frost (Queanbeyan Whites), 5. Lachlan Shaw (Gungahlin Eagles), 6. Tom Hooper (Tuggeranong Vikings), 7. Luke Reimer (Western Districts), 8. Charlie Cale (Uni-North Owls), 9. Ryan Lonergan (c) (Tuggeranong Vikings), 10. Noah Lolesio (Tuggeranong Vikings), 11. Corey Toole (Gungahlin Eagles), 12. Ollie Sapsford (Uni-North Owls), 13. Len Ikitau (Tuggeranong Vikings), 14. Andy Muirhead (Canberra Royals), 15. Tom Wright (Western Districts)
16. Billy Pollard (Uni-North Owls), 17. Blake Schoupp (Gungahlin Eagles), 18. Tevita Alatini (Gungahlin Eagles), 19. Will Sankey (Uni-North Owls), 20. Jahrome Brown (Gungahlin Eagles), 21. Harrison Goddard (Queanbeyan Whites), 22. Declan Meredith (Western Districts), 23. Austin Anderson (Western Districts), 25. Hudson Creighton (Queanbeyan Whites), 26. Rory Scott (Canberra Royals), 28. Fred Kaihea (Queanbeyan Whites).