Queensland have confirmed their status as Australia's top Super Rugby Pacific team, consigning Melbourne to a hefty 53-26 home ground loss.

The Reds entered the round four clash in third spot, one above the Rebels but looked a cut above for much of Friday night's match at AAMI Park.

Queensland set up the win with five first-half tries to build to a 33-7 lead at halftime, then added three more after the break.

Lock Seru Uru was a stand-out, claiming two tries.

It was a gutsy effort for the Reds, who had a short turn-around after their rousing victory over the competition heavyweight Chiefs last round.

The Rebels were disappointing in the first half, with their highly-rated, forward pack led by ex-Red Taniela Tupou, failing to fire.

Melbourne started the second half in better shape and were first on the scoreboard as they started to move the ball and reducing their errors.

They scored two tries, through winger Glen Vaihu and reserve prop Isaac Aedo Kailea, in the space of five minutes to close the gap to 33-19.

But their comeback was snuffed out when Vaihu gifted the Reds a try.

Stopping the ball going over the sideline, he threw it back inside - straight into the hands of Queensland centre Josh Flook, who strolled to the tryline.

While the Rebels added another try through Tuaina Taii Tualima, momentum was all the Reds' way.

They pushed past the half century through reserve hooker Josh Nasser while Flook added a second to wrap up a comprehensive win.

Melbourne Rebels 26 [Tries: Kellaway, Vaihu, Kailea, Tualima; Cons: Gordon 3]

Reds 53 [Tries: Uru 2, Faessler, Wright, Ravai, Flook 2, Nasser; Cons: McLaughlin-Phillips 4, Lynagh; Pen: Lynagh]

Melbourne Rebels: 15 Andrew Kellaway, 14 Lachie Anderson, 13 Filipo Daugunu, 12 David Feliuai, 11 Glen Vaihu, 10 Carter Gordon, 9 Ryan Louwrens, 8 Rob Leota (captain), 7 Vaiolini Ekuasi, 6 Josh Kemeny, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Josh Canham, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Jordan Uelese, 1 Matt Gibbon.
Replacements: 16 Ethan Dobbins, 17 Isaac Kailea, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Tuaina Taii Tualima, 20 Maciu Nabolakasi, 21 Angelo Smith, 22 Jake Strachan, 23 James Tuttle.

Reds: 15 Jock Campbell, 14 Suliasi Vunivalu, 13 Josh Flook, 12 Isaac Henry, 11 Mac Grealy, 10 Harry McLaughlin-Phillips, 9 Tate McDermott (co-captain), 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Fraser McReight, 6 Liam Wright (co-captain), 5 Ryan Smith, 4 Seru Uru, 3 Zane Nonggorr, 2 Matt Faessler, 1 Peni Ravai.
Replacements: 16 Josh Nasser, 17 George Blake, 18 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 19 Cormac Daly, 20 John Bryant, 21 Kalani Thomas, 22 Tom Lynagh, 23 Jordan Petaia.

Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant referees: Matt Kellahan, George Myers
TMO: Brett Cronan