Rugby Australia has confirmed the final round of Vodafone Super Rugby AU will be a ‘Super Saturday’ with teams fighting it out for a berth in the Finals Series.

The Round 10 clash between the Melbourne Rebels and Western Force has been moved to kick-off at 5.05pm AEST on Saturday 5 September at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle.

The action will then move north of the border for a mouth-watering match-up between the Queensland Reds and the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium at 7.15pm AEST later on Saturday night.

There are just four points separating first and fourth on the Super Rugby AU table with the Brumbies leading with only three rounds left to play.

The top three teams at the end of the regular season will progress through to the Finals with the second-placed side to host the third-placed side in a Qualifying Final on Saturday 12 September.

The Final, on Saturday 19 September, will be hosted by the team that finishes on top of the ladder after the regular season and will play the winner of the Qualifying Final.

The announcement of ‘Super Saturday’ follows the Melbourne Rebels confirming Leichhardt Oval in Sydney as the venue for their Round 9 clash against the Waratahs on Saturday 29 August.

Rugby Australia interim CEO, Rob Clarke said: “Super Saturday is a fantastic addition and I want to thank our broadcast partners FOX SPORTS for their flexibility and enthusiasm in supporting the shift in the fixture schedule.

“The Vodafone Super Rugby AU competition has been incredibly competitive and all three finals spots are up for grabs as we enter the pointy end of the regular season.

“It’s going to be a very exciting night with everything on the line on Super Saturday so I expect fans will be on their edge of their seats as their team fights for a berth in the Finals,” Clarke said.

Remaining fixtures for 2020 Vodafone Super Rugby AU Season

Round 8
Friday 21 August – Western Force v Queensland Reds, Cbus Super Stadium - 5.05pm AEST
Saturday 22 August – Brumbies v NSW Waratahs, GIO Stadium, Canberra – 7.15pm AEST
Melbourne Rebels Bye

Round 9 
Friday 28 August – Brumbies v Western Force, GIO Stadium, Canberra – 7.05pm AEST
Saturday 29 August – Melbourne Rebels v NSW Waratahs, Leichhardt Oval, Sydney – 7.15pm AEST
Queensland Reds Bye

Super Saturday Round 10
Saturday 5 September – Melbourne Rebels v Western Force, McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle – 5.05pm AEST
Saturday 5 September – Queensland Reds v Brumbies, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane – 7.15pm AEST
NSW Waratahs Bye

Qualifying Final (2 v 3)
Saturday 12 September

Final (1 v winner of Qualifying Final)
Saturday 19 September