Speight appeal dismissed

30 Jun 2015
Speight appeal dismissed

Hearing Details: Tuesday 30 June 2015 @ 17:00 AEST, 19:00 NZST, 09:00 SAST via videoconference
Appeals Committee: Nigel Hampton QC (Chairman), Lex Mpati, Terry Willis
Player: Henry Speight
Team: Brumbies
Position: Winger
Date of Incident: 20 June 2015
Outcome of original SANZAR judicial hearing: At a SANZAR judicial hearing on 23 June 2015, SANZAR Judicial Officer, Robert Stelzner SC, found Henry Speight guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (j) Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that player into the ground whilst that player’s feet are still off the ground such that the player’s head and/or upper body come into contact with the ground is dangerous play.

The player was suspended for five weeks (comprising four matches).

SANZAR NEWS RELEASE

A SANZAR Appeals Committee, chaired by Nigel Hampton QC (New Zealand) and comprising Lex Mpati (South Africa) and Terry Willis (Australia) unanimously dismissed an appeal brought by the Brumbies against the decision that found Henry Speight had contravened Law 10.4 (j) - Lifting Tackle.

The Committee dismissed the appeal on the basis that the appellant was unable to show that the Judicial Officer's central factual findings, that the tackle involved both a lifting and driving, were in error.

The Committee also unanimously dismissed the appeal brought against the five-week (four-match) suspension imposed on Speight, finding that the Judicial Officer had not erred in principle and that the sanction imposed was not manifestly excessive.

As such, the player remains suspended from all forms of the game for five weeks up to and including Saturday 25 July 2015.

No order was made for costs.