The Australian Super Rugby sides have named stacked sides for their opening trials of 2024 on February 3.

Eager to start their season strong, a host of Wallabies have named across the weekend, set to start with the Melbourne Rebels hosting the NSW Waratahs.

Don't miss Super Round 2024 in Melbourne from March 1-3. Get your tickets now! 

The Queensland Reds will continue their development under Les Kiss when they host the Western Force at Ballymore.

As for the ACT Brumbies, they will take on the Fijian Drua at Viking Park, with their Super Rugby Women's side to face Hong Kong. has all the team news for round one.


Reds vs. Force – 3.15pm AEST - Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane - LIVE ON STAN SPORT

All six of the Queensland Reds' World Cup contingency will play in their opening trial of 2024 against the Western Force.

Tate McDermott and Liam Wright will co-captain the side, with Wright joined by Fraser McReight and Harry Wilson in the back-row.

McDermott, meanwhile, will partner Lawson Creighton in the halves, whilst Harry McLaughlin-Phillips will see time in the position as Tom Lynagh (back) remains on the sidelines.

Cormac Daly starts at lock along with Seru Uru, with Wallabies Matt Faessler and Zane Nonggorr in the front-row.

Jordan Petaia returns to fullback after spending the international season at outside centre.

James O’Connor (hamstring), Angus Blyth (knee), Massimo De Lutiis (hamstring) and Connor Anderson (ankle) were not considered for selection because of injury.

Reds (1-15): Sef Fa’agase, Matt Faessler, Zane Nonggorr, Seru Uru, Cormac Daly, Liam Wright (co-c), Fraser McReight, Harry Wilson, Tate McDermott (co-c), Lawson Creighton, Floyd Aubrey, Hunter Paisami, Josh Flook, Suliasi Vunivalu, Jordan Petaia

Replacements: George Blake, Alex Hodgman, Peni Ravai, Connor Vest, Taine Roiri, Kalani Thomas, Isaac Henry, Mac Grealy, Bagiuo Johnson-Tiumalu, Joe Brial, John Bryant, Harry McLaughlin-Phillips, Moli Sooaemalagi, Charlie Brosnan, Louis Werchon, Tim Ryan, Willem Johnstone, Frankie Goldsbrough, Jarrod Homan, Jock Campbell

Force (1-15): TBC:

Replacements: TBC


Rebels vs. Waratahs - 4.00 pm AEDT - Harold Caterson Reserve, Moorabbin RUC, Melbourne

The Melbourne Rebels are at near-full strength for their clash with the Waratahs.

New recruit Lukhan Salakaia-Loto will start at lock, whilst former Reds teammate Filipo Daugunu will slot in on the wing.

Test due Carter Gordon and Andrew Kellaway headline the backline that includes former All Black Matt Proctor,

Taniela Tupou will come off the bench for the Rebels, with the front-row still stacked with experience that includes Matt Gibbon, Jordan Uelese and Sam Talakai.

Darby Lancaster will also start in the reserves after starring at the Perth SVNS.

For the Waratahs, there are eight Wallabies named in the starting side.

Angus Bell, Dave Porecki and Harry Johnson-Holmes make up a full-strength front row, joined by Jed Holloway and Hugh Sinclair.

Hard-hitting duo Lachie Swinton and Langi Gleeson form the back-row alongside Ned Slack-Smith whilst the centres duo of Lalakai Foketi and Izaia Perese starred for the Wallabies.

Junior Wallabies skipper Teddy Wilson joins Tane Edmed in the halves whilst Joey Walton moves to fullback after strong performances in training.

Rebels: (1-15) Matt Gibbon, Jordan Uelese, Sam Talakai, Josh Canham, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Josh Kemeny, Brad Wilkin, Vaiolini Ekusai, James Tuttle, Carter Gordon, Glen Vaihu, David Feliuai, Matt Proctor, Filipo Daugunu, Andrew Kellaway

Replacements: Ethan Dobbins, Isaac Kailea, Taniela Tupou, Angelo Smith, Tuaina Taii Tualima, Jack Maunder, Jake Strachan, Lukas Ripley, Mason Gordon, David Vaihu, Darby Lancaster, Daniel Maiaa, Timma Faingaanuku, Rob Leota, Kohan Herbert, Nick Jooste

Waratahs (1-15): Angus Bell, David Porecki, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Jed Holloway, Hugh Sinclair, Lachie Swinton, Ned Slack-Smith, Langi Gleeson, Teddy Wilson, Tane Edmed, Triston Reilly, Lalakai Foketi, Izaia Perese, Vuate Karawalevu, Joey Walton

Replacements: Theo Fourie, Hayden Thompson-Stringer, Daniel Botha, Miles Amatosero, Charlie Gamble/Ben Di Staso, Tom Goddard, Jack Bowen, Mosese Tuipulotu, Harry Wilson, Archie Saunders, Matt Komolafe, Sam Thomson, Sione Misiloi


Brumbies vs. Drua - 6.45pm AEDT - Viking Park, Canberra - LIVE ON BAR TV

The Drua's side is a mix of youth and experience, with number eight Meli Derenalagi captaining the side.

Young guns Epeli Momo, Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula and Sikeli Rabitu will feature in Drua colours for the first time, with Momo to start on the wing along with Taniela Rakuro.

Kemu Valetini will face his brother's club, starting in the halves along side Peni Matawalu.

World Cup hero Simione Kuruvoli will come off the bench along with Fiji stars Mesulame Dolokoto, Isoa Nasilasila and Leone Rotuisolia.

Brumbies (1-15): TBC

Replacements: TBC

Drua (1-15): Livai Natave, Zuriel Togiatama, Jone Koroiduadua, Mesake Vocevoce, Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta, Vilive Miramira, Ella Canakaivata, Meli Derenalagi, Peni Matawalu, Kemu Valetini, Taniela Rakuro, Tuidraki Samusamuvodre, Apisalome Vota, Epeli Momo, Ilaisa Droaesese

Replacements: Mesulame Dolokoto, Emosi Tuqiri, Meli Tuni, Isoa Nasilasila, Leona Rotuisolia, Simione Kuruvoli, Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula, Michael Naitokani, Sikeli Rabitu, Motikiai Murray, Samuela Tawake


Super Rugby Pacific Trial match schedule for 2024