The Springboks will face the Wallabies on Saturday in Brisbane with a new-look front row, a reshuffled loose trio as well as a different midfield combination following the announcement of the South African match squad.

Rassie Erasmus, SA Rugby’s Director of Rugby, also included uncapped outside back Cheslin Kolbe on the bench, with the former Blitzbok and Junior Springbok speedster set to make his full Test debut should he join the action as a replacement.

Steven Kitshoff and Bongi Mbonambi will form a new-look front row next to Frans Malherbe, while Tendai Mtawarira and Malcolm Marx are set to play off the bench.

Siya Kolisi (captain) returns to the No 6 jersey after playing on the opposite side of the scrum against the Pumas in Durban and Mendoza. Pieter-Steph du Toit will start in the No 7 jersey and Warren Whiteley completes the loose trio at No 8.

Elton Jantjies swaps places at flyhalf with Handré Pollard, who is now amongst the replacements, with Faf de Klerk again performing the scrumhalf duties.

Erasmus also rotated his midfield, which means a first start this year for Damian de Allende, who will resume his centre partnership with Jesse Kriel. Aphiwe Dyantyi and Makazole Mapimpi (wings) and the experienced Willie le Roux completes the rest of the South African backline.

“We are looking for a good response on Saturday against the Wallabies and I am sure that this side will be up to the task,” said Erasmus.

According to the Bok mentor, both sides will be desperate to succeed as a result of their respective results in the previous round of matches.

“Australia, playing at home, will no doubt be highly motivated to bounce back, so we have to be ready for a huge contest,” said Erasmus.

“We have worked hard to rectify our errors of last week and we know the set piece and breakdown battles are going to especially be important. The Wallabies are known for their abilities at the breakdown and we will have to be accurate and disciplined in those areas.”

Elton Jantjies has been recalled into the Springbok starting XV


15 Willie le Roux (Wasps, England), 46
14 Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks) 3
13 Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 32
12 Damian de Allende (DHL Western Province), 30
11 Aphiwe Dyantyi (Xerox Golden Lions), 5
10 Elton Jantjies (Xerox Golden Lions), 26
9 Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks, England), 16
8 Warren Whiteley (Xerox Golden Lions), 19
7 Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Western Province), 38
6 Siya Kolisi (captain, DHL Western Province), 33
5 Franco Mostert (Xerox Golden Lions), 22
4 Eben Etzebeth (DHL Western Province), 69
3 Frans Malherbe (DHL Western Province), 21
2 Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Western Province), 18
1 Steven Kitshoff (DHL Western Province), 29


16 Malcolm Marx (Xerox Golden Lions), 16
17 Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), 103
18 Wilco Louw (DHL Western Province), 8
19 RG Snyman (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 4
20 Francois Louw (Bath, England), 59
21 Embrose Papier (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 3
22 Handré Pollard (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 31
23 Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse, France), 0

Stats and facts:

  • Cheslin Kolbe will become Springbok #911 should he take the field as a substitute.
  • There are 158 caps in the backline with 249 caps amongst the forwards. On the bench there are a further 224 caps.
  • The average caps per player in the backline are 23, the forwards 31 while the players on the bench average 28. The average age of the starting 15 is 27.

Milestones and records:

  • Eben Etzebeth will play in his record 35th consecutive Castle Lager Rugby Championship Test match.
  • Handré Pollard needs 17 points during the Castle Lager Rugby Championship to reach 100 points in the competition.
  • Eben Etzebeth will play in his 70th Test match, while Steven Kitshoff will play in his 30th and Warren Whiteley in his 20th.
  • It will be Francois Louw’s 60th Test match should he be used as a substitute.