Australia and New Zealand name their teams for Round 3 of TRC U20.

New Zealand U20 Head Coach Jono Gibbes has made seven changes to his squad to play Australia for what will be a tournament defining final round match at the inaugural Rugby Championship Under 20 Tournament on the Sunshine Coast.

Following a first up 13-13 draw against South Africa and a 43-20 win over Argentina, New Zealand can secure the trophy with a win against the tournament hosts Australia at Sunshine Coast Stadium on Sunday (12 May).

Gibbes and his coaching team continue to back their entire traveling squad with five changes to the team that started against Argentina and a further two on the reserves. Notably loose forwards Tristyn Cook and Jeremiah Avei-Collins gain their first appearances of the week, the former earning a start at blindside, and the former providing loose forward cover from the bench.

Game one standouts, wing Stanely Solomon and fullback Isaac Hutchinson, return to the starting backline, while lock Tom Allen and openside Johnny Lee come into the starting pack. Outside back Aki Tuivailala also returns to the squad to provide some firepower from the bench.

The side is once again captained by consistent hooker Vernon Bason who has led the team through the tournament.

New Zealand Under 20 squad versus Australia Under 20 

1 Will Martin (Chiefs, Waikato)
2 Vernon Bason (Hurricanes, Manawatū) (c)
3 Joshua Smith (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
4 Tom Allen (Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)
5 Liam Jack (Crusaders, Canterbury)
6 Tristyn Cook (Blues, North Harbour)
7 Johnny Lee (Crusaders, Canterbury)
8 Malachi Wrampling (Chiefs, Waikato)
9 Dylan Pledger (Highlanders, Otago)
10 Rico Simpson (Blues, Auckland)
11 Stanley Solomon (Hurricanes, Wellington)
12 Tofuka Paongo (Hurricanes, Wellington)
13 Xavi Taele (Blues, Auckland) (vc)
14 King Maxwell (Blues, Auckland)
15 Isaac Hutchinson (Crusaders, Canterbury)

Replacements:16 Manumaua Letiu (Crusaders, Canterbury), 17 Sika Pole (Blues, Auckland), 18 Kurene Luamanuvae (Blues, Auckland), 19 Andrew Smith (Chiefs, Waikato), 20 Jeremiah Avei-Collins (Hurricanes, Wellington)21 Ben O’Donovan (Crusaders, Canterbury), 22 Sam Coles (Hurricanes, ManawatÅ«), 23 Aki Tuivailala (Chiefs, Waikato).

Australia U20s coach Nathan Grey has named Queensland Reds playmaker Harry McLaughlin-Phillips in his starting line up to tackle New Zealand on Sunday. McLaughlin-Phillips' inclusion is one of eight changes to the starting XV that faced South Africa on Tuesday night.

Captain Toby Macpherson and vice-captain Ronan Leahy once again reprise their starting roles at lock and inside centre alongside front row trio Jack Barrett, Ottavio Tuipulotu and Nick Bloomfield.

Lock Harvey Cordukes pairs with Brumbies teammate Macpherson in the engine room with Aden Ekanayake returning to partner Dane Sawers and Jack Harley in the back row.

Force halfback Doug Philipson will steer the ship alongside McLaughlin-Phillips with Rebels centre Divad Palu elevated to the starting XV outside Leahy.

Queensland duo Will McCulloch and Xavier Rubens return to the match-day squad as starting wingers while Brumbies flyer Angus Staniforth shifts to fullback.

Bryn Edwards, Lington Ieli and Tevita Alatini offer front row cover with Ben Daniels and Ben Di Staso rounding out the forward finishers.

Force flyer Boston Fakafanua is set to make his first tournament appearance after being named alongside Hwi Sharples and Joey Fowler on the pine.

“It was difficult to choose a side from the 33 players who've been involved in this campaign have worked tirelessly and I'd back any player to step up if required," Grey said. "This tournament has been an excellent opportunity for players to put their hand up and show what they can do in the gold jersey.

"There's been significant improvement between games one and two and we want to step up again in our final game against New Zealand.

"It's our last hit out before the upcoming U20 World Championship and our last game on home soil this year."

Australia will face New Zealand on Sunday 12 May at Sunshine Coast Stadium (3:30pm AEST kick off). The match will be shown live and exclusive on Stan Sport.

Australia U20s to play South Africa at Sunshine Coast Stadium on Sunday 12 May, 3:30pm AEST

Australia Under 20 squad versus New Zealand Under 20

1. Jack Barrett (Waratahs)
2. Ottavio Tuipulotu (Rebels)
3. Nick Bloomfield (Reds)
4. Toby Macpherson (Brumbies – captain)
5. Harvey Cordukes (Brumbies)
6. Aden Ekanayake (Waratahs)
7. Dane Sawers (Force)
8. Jack Harley (Brumbies)
9. Doug Philipson (Force)
10. Harry McLaughlin-Phillips (Reds)
11. Will McCulloch (Reds)
12. Ronan Leahy (Force – vice captain)
13. Divad Palu (Rebels)
14. Xavier Rubens (Reds)
15. Angus Staniforth (Brumbies)

Replacements: 16. Bryn Edwards (Waratahs), 17. Lington Ieli (Brumbies), 18. Tevita Alatini (Brumbies), 19. Ben Daniels (Reds), 20. Ben Di Staso (Waratahs), 21. Hwi Sharples (Waratahs), 22. Joey Fowler (Rebels), 23. Boston Fakafanua (Force)