Head coach David Rennie has announced a 42-man Wallabies squad for the forthcoming Rugby Championship.

Fresh off the side’s first home series win since 2014 and his first in charge of Australia, Rennie has named a largely similar squad to the one who defeated France 2-1 in the three-Test series earlier this month.

2019 Rugby World Cup lock Izack Rodda headlines the new faces, making his return to the national set up for the first time under Rennie.

He is joined by Western Force teammate and fellow new inclusion, Tom Robertson, who last wore the Wallaby gold in the 2018 Rugby Championship against South Africa.

Former Reds playmaker and current Toulon back, Duncan Paia’aua, is a surprise addition to the group, last featuring in a Wallabies set-up in 2017 where he wore the number 10 jersey against the Barbarians in an uncapped match.

Pete Samu returns to the Wallabies squad after returning from injury

Brumbies forward Nick Frost is the only player selected for the first time in a Wallabies squad, with his club teammate Pete Samu also joining the group after a successful return from injury via club rugby. 

Experienced Wallabies, Nic White and Scott Sio have overcome knee and hamstring injuries respectively to re-join the group, along with Jordan Petaia who had been rehabbing a quad complaint with the squad throughout the France Series.

The 42-man squad contains eight uncapped players, with four others having made their debuts against France this month.

The group will assemble at Sanctuary Cove on the Gold Coast today, to prepare for the first Bledisloe Cup Test in Auckland on August 7.

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said: “The connection this group is forming is growing every day and we’ve picked a squad of players here who are willing to work hard for each other.”

“We know we’ve still got a way to go to get to where we want to be but that challenge is exciting and something we’re looking forward to. 

“We have a great opportunity coming up in the Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup Tests to build on the momentum we picked up during a tough French Series.”

Squad snapshot

  • 807 total Test caps 
  • 8 uncapped players, 14 with under 10 Test caps
  • Average age of 25 (youngest – Angus Bell at 20, son of former Wallabies prop Mark Bell while the oldest is James Slipper (32), who has 103 Test caps)
  • Average of 20 Test caps amongst the squad of 41
  • Clubs represented: 15 Brumbies, 9 Reds, 9 Rebels, 5 Waratahs, 3 Western Force

Allan Alaalatoa (46, Brumbies, 27)
Tom Banks (14, Brumbies, 27)
Angus Bell (6, NSW Waratahs, 20)
Pone Fa’amausili* (uncapped, Melbourne Rebels, 24)
Lalakai Foketi* (uncapped, NSW Waratahs, 26)
Nick Frost* (uncapped, Brumbies, 21)
Jake Gordon (8, NSW Waratahs, 28)
Reece Hodge (46, Melbourne Rebels, 26)
Michael Hooper (c) (108, NSW Waratahs, 29)
Len Ikitau (2, Brumbies, 22)
Feleti Kaitu’u* (uncapped, Western Force, 26)
Andrew Kellaway (2, Melbourne Rebels, 25)
Marika Koroibete (37, Melbourne Rebels, 28)
Rob Leota* (uncapped, Melbourne Rebels, 24)
Noah Lolesio (5, Brumbies, 21)
Lachlan Lonergan (2, Brumbies, 21)
Ryan Lonergan* (uncapped, Brumbies, 23)
Tate McDermott (5, Queensland Reds, 22)
Fraser McReight (1, Queensland Reds, 22)
Andy Muirhead* (uncapped, Brumbies, 29)
Isi Naisarani (11, Melbourne Rebels, 26)
James O’Connor (55, Queensland Reds, 31)
Brandon Paenga-Amosa (12, Queensland Reds, 25)
Duncan Paia’aua* (uncapped, Toulon, 26)
Hunter Paisami (9, Queensland Reds, 23)
Jordan Petaia (8, Queensland Reds, 21)
Matt Philip (12 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 27)
Tom Robertson (24, Western Force, 26)
Izack Rodda (25, Western Force, 24)
Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (28, Queensland Reds, 24)
Pete Samu (10, Brumbies, 29)
Scott Sio (68, Brumbies, 29)
James Slipper (103, Brumbies, 32)
Darcy Swain (3, Brumbies, 24)
Lachlan Swinton (2, NSW Waratahs, 24)
Matt To’omua (57, Melbourne Rebels, 31)
Taniela Tupou (28, Queensland Reds, 25)
Jordan Uelese (13, Melbourne Rebels, 24)
Rob Valetini (7, Brumbies, 22)
Nic White (37, Brumbies, 31)
Harry Wilson (8, Queensland Reds, 21)
Tom Wright (5, Brumbies, 24)
*denotes uncapped
2021 Bledisloe Cup Series 
New Zealand v Wallabies, Saturday 7 August at Eden Park, Auckland at 5.05pm AEST* 
Wallabies’ fixtures in eToro Rugby Championship 
Wallabies v New Zealand, Saturday 21 August at Optus Stadium, Perth at 6.00pm AWST*
New Zealand v Wallabies, Saturday 28 August at Sky Stadium, Wellington at 5.05pm AEST* 
South Africa v Wallabies, Sunday 12 September at Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney at 3.00pm AEST
Wallabies v South Africa, Saturday 18 September at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane at 3.00pm AEST 
Wallabies v Argentina, Saturday 25 September at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle at 7.45pm AEST 
Argentina v Wallabies, Saturday 2 October at GIO Stadium in Canberra at 8pm AEST
*forms part of the 2021 Bledisloe Cup Series