SANZAR appeals Hooper hearing

31 Jul 2015
SANZAR appeals Hooper hearing

An appeal has been lodged against the outcome of a judicial hearing held on Wednesday 29 July and Thursday 30 July that found Michael Hooper of Australia guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (a) and issued a sanction of a one week suspension.

Under the SANZAR Judicial Rules, all formal judicial hearings are reviewed by an independent Appeals Review Officer. The review officer, the Honourable Graeme Mew (Canada), has examined the Hooper case and in his determination, referred it to a SANZAR Appeals Committee to review the sanction handed down by Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton QC.

A SANZAR Appeals Committee, chaired by Jannie Lubbe SC, with Terry Willis and Mike Heron QC as members, will hear the appeal via videoconference on Sunday 2 August 2015 at 5pm AEST, 7pm NZST, 9am SAST and 4am ART. 

SANZAR will not be making any further comment until the Appeal Hearing is complete.