Wallaby Team to Face Wales Announced

10 Nov 2017
Wallaby Team to Face Wales Announced

Qantas Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made three changes to his starting fifteen ahead of the Test against Wales at Principality Stadium in Cardiff on 11 November.

Bernard Foley (illness) and Will Genia (calf) have been named after missing last weekend's clash against Japan with Reece Hodge shifting back to the wing at the expense of Henry Speight, who starred against the Brave Blossoms.

Samu Kerevi has retained his spot in the centres alongside Tevita Kuridrani with Kurtley Beale to wear the number 15 jersey, as he did in Yokohama.

Karmichael Hunt is the sole change to the reserves bench after overcoming a neck complaint, giving the three-Test utility another opportunity in the international arena after injury ruined his Rugby Championship campaign.

Qantas Wallabies coach Michael Cheika said: "I think Samu’s a very, very good player and I know he hasn’t had it all his way this year so I’m eager to see him fight back and hold a spot in the team. 

"A really good thing for us is we’ve got options around how we can set up because Karmichael can go to fullback or centre, Samu can go 12 or 13, Hodge can play pretty much anywhere now, and Beale can play 12, fullback or flyhalf if we need.

"There was a lot happening last week, we lost a lot of players between that Barbarians game then the tour. If you look at our team, a lot of players haven’t got much experience playing in the northern hemisphere so it’s good to have some experience around them this week," Cheika said.

The Wallabies will join Wales in wearing a poppy on their sleeve to commemorate Remembrance Day, this Saturday November 11. 

The Wallabies beat Wales 32-8 in Cardiff in their last meeting in November 2016

1. Scott Sio (40 Tests)
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (79 Tests)
3. Sekope Kepu (88 Tests)
4. Rob Simmons (79 Tests)
5. Adam Coleman (19 Tests)
6. Ned Hanigan (10 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (76 Tests)
8. Sean McMahon (23 Tests)
9. Will Genia (vc) (85 Tests)
10. Bernard Foley (vc) (52 Tests)
11. Reece Hodge (21 Tests)
12. Samu Kerevi (15 Tests)
13. Tevita Kuridrani (55 Tests)
14. Marika Koroibete (5 Tests)
15. Kurtley Beale (68 Tests)

16. Stephen Moore (126 Tests)
17. Tom Robertson (16 Tests)
18. Allan Alaalatoa (20 Tests)
19. Matt Philip (1 Test)
20. Ben McCalman (50 Tests)
21. Nick Phipps (59 Tests)
22. Karmichael Hunt (3 Tests)
23. Henry Speight (18 Tests)